YouTube FanFest – India 2015

YouTube FanFest – The festival that brings YouTube’s biggest superstars from around the world together to share one stage. I missed YTFF last year because I used to live across the country but now that I live in Mumbai I can happily say that I finally attended my first YTFF.

About a week ago, this girl named Hawwa followed me on Twitter. She’s one of the most enthusiastic YTFF fans I’ve ever come across and certainly the most generous. This kind soul offered me M&G passes for The Viral FeverKurt Schneider and Sam Tsui. Isn’t she the nicest person ever? Thanks to her I met these amazing people.

And then, I met Superwoman. A big shout-out to the management who helped me meet her. I just can’t thank them enough. My day would have been a lot less amazing had they not been there to help. I’m not sure how my conversation went with Lilly because the moment I saw her I was starstruck so I’m guessing I spoke gibberish. You can’t expect me to keep calm in front of Superwoman. It was so surreal. It was not a YouTube video on my laptop screen. It was Lilly Singh standing right in front of me. It was real and it was happening. I just can’t explain the feeling. Her hugs are the best! And I now have an autographed poster of hers too. My day just kept getting better and better.

Later, Abish, Kenny and I talked about our undying love for YouTube and clicked pictures because that’s what we always do. I cannot tell you how much I enjoy being around these two incredible human beings. Also, I have this weird selfie of Kenny on my phone that he accidentally clicked while trying to figure out how to use my camera. It is gold.

The M&G with Kanan and Biswa was as epic as everyone expected it to be. For those who ask me questions like ‘How many times will you meet them?’ – Like, what kind of a question is that? Is there a limit for the number of times a person can meet another person? ‘Cause if something like that exists, I’m unaware of it. I just think Kanan and Biswa are really cool people and I love meeting them.

Moving on, I also got a chance to meet YouTubers like Bethany Mota, SnG Comedy, Jonita Gandhi and Aakash Gandhi. Sadly, I couldn’t meet JusReign because of the time clash with the other M&Gs but it’s okay. There’s always a next time thanks to YouTube.

After the Meet and Greet was over, we headed to the main show which was hosted by Kanan and Biswa. To make the show a hundred times better, AIB made a surprise entry on the stage. The crowd went crazy chanting ‘Roast’. I hope the moral police realizes that we’re gonna keep supporting AIB no matter what. Anyways, AIB was presented with Youtube’s Golden Button for hitting the 1 million milestone.Congratulations guys!

The performances were amazing – Maati Baani‘s music, East India Comedy‘s stand up,José Covaco‘s misheard lyrics – everything was perfect. The image of Bethany, Kurt and Sam dancing to ‘Lovely’ from Happy New Year will never leave my mind. Ever.

Elton J Fernandez, Sherry Shroff and Sonal Sagaraya held a contest for which the winner would be given a complete makeover by these three fashion YouTubers. The winner looked beautiful but no one has ever looked prettier in a dress than Biswa did.

What I found funny was that – Arjuno Kanungo – the guy with the voice of an angel and a face that looks a lot like Kanan’s (At least, that’s what people say!) wore a ‘Not Kanan Gill’ T-shirt to YTFF. Somebody get Kanan a ‘Not Arjun Kanungo’ T-shirt please.

Lilly announced her world tour – A Trip to Unicorn Island. It’s starting in May and her first stop is India. Thank you Mother Unicorn for showering our lives with rainbows of happiness!

There’s no doubt that this has been the best day of 2015 so far. Although I have a terrible body ache and bad blisters, I’m happy because 20th March 2015 has been amazing. I’ll always remember this day. My throat is sore from all the fangirling I did today but it was all worth it.

So, follow me on Instagram at @simran_spa for the awesome sauce photos, because you know the mantra – if you don’t post a picture, it didn’t happen. You can click here to watch the entire show where these awesome YouTubers soak up each others awesomeness on an awesome stage.

I’ll just be here processing everything that happened today.

Find me on Twitter at @SimranPArora.

One thought on “YouTube FanFest – India 2015

  1. I just happened to read all of your posts and I must say you’re doing really great. Kudos to you and keep up the good work SPA !

    Like

Leave a comment